Digital Goniometer

Ali Inam

Joined Aug 7, 2011
Hi guys, I am a student of Biomedical Engineering and am in my 2nd year. I am supposed to make a Digital Goniometer, for those who want to know what Goniometer is:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goniometer

Now mostly there are mechanical types of goniometer and we make them electrical by attaching batteries to it and then we get the access to measure the voltage changes by the movement of our arm.

I have decided to make such a Goniometer which will include a double digit seven segment display which will be attached to the goniometer through a Potentiometer, as the arm will move, so will the potentiometer and the voltages will vary according to the change in resistance and the voltage to be displayed in the 7 segment display.

Can anyone please help how to build such a circuit involving 2 seven segment displays to be controlled by a single Potentiometer (POT). I have been searching for different ciruits on google for the last couple of days but stiil I'm unable to find a decent circuit which would give what I really need.

Thanks !

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
You need a digital voltmeter. (Simply) Scale the output of the pot so that the voltage displayed on the meter relates to the angle. For example, 45 degrees might be displayed as 4.5 volts or 45 millivolts. You can use a digital panel meter rather than a DVM to make things look cleaner.

By the way, potentiometers come in many varieties. Trimpots are all linear in my experience, but panel mount pots come in both linear and logarithmic flavors. I suggest you find a linear pot.

It should be a simple project in concept, but as always, you will find the Devil is in the details.

Ali Inam

Joined Aug 7, 2011
So you mean to say that I should use a digital voltmeter instead of building a circuit involving 2 seven segment displays ???

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009