Digital fluid level display project help.

zorbzz

Joined Jun 16, 2008
Can anyone help with the program that would allow me to use an existing tank sender unit to read the fluid level from a generator fuel tank so I know how much fuel was in the tank.

The tank is from an old car and the gauge sender unit reads 10 ohms empty and 150 ohms full.

The tank has a maximum capacity of 68 litres so it would be ideal if I could either have a 3 digit readout of 0 - 100% or even better 0 to 68 litres with the 3rd digit being in 100 ml incriments like 63.5 etc.
Because we live away from fuel stations this project would be great for us as we would know when to get more fuel.

I dont have a clue about programming pics to this degree but I have all the equipment to do it and can buy whatever pic I need.

Im only new to pics and am trying to learn about multiplexing and adc so I think this would be an excellent project that with guidance I can learn a lot from.

I have pic16f684 pic16f628a pic16f88 and pic16f57 pics to use if that helps.

I can do step by step pictures and post the whole project here if someone can help me complete it.
Thanks alot this is my last resort.

johndoe45

Joined Jan 30, 2010
this is matlab code

here is what i got
decrease dx for more accuracy.
all do is change meter reading in ohms and it gives you level of tank in liters
however. sometimes the program doesn't have answer. for example 52.3.

dx=0.01;

tank=0:dx*0.485714:68; %liters
gauge=10:dx:150; %ohms

meter_reading=150; %ohms

tank_level=tank(find(gauge==meter_reading)) %liters

Last edited:

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Hi Zorbzz
What kind of program language do you use. I also do not think someone have a project matching your needs 100% But break your task into small sub tasks. We can not do the project for you. But we will be happy to discuss any problem you will meet during your project work

rjenkins

Joined Nov 6, 2005