Digital ammeter

TDRacing13

Joined Aug 5, 2011
Hi all. This is my first possible project involving circuits. Its not my first experience with electronics. I am an auto technician by trade so most of my experience involves 12v DC systems. What I am trying to do is build a digital ammeter that will read up to 20 amps. I have a box I made to load test circuits that is adjustable from 2.5 to 15 amps and normally I just throw an inductive amp clamp over one of the leads and get to work. My thought is it would be slick to have a digital amperage readout at all times built into the box. What's everyones thoughts? Too big of a beginner project? In open to all comments. Thanks, Jon

simo_x

Joined Dec 23, 2010
There are several free projects already published with firmware included in the net.

You could look for them to make you an idea about where to start from.

simo_x

Joined Dec 23, 2010
My first idea looks something like this:

R2 and R3 are needed to drop the maximum of 20V = ILoad * R1 to a factor of 10, because I don't know if the micro will like that voltage at input. I did not ever make a project like this, and I don't remember very well the projects I found in internet.. If microcontrollers allow that value of voltage at input, maybe try to just limit current with R2 of a proper value..

Keep in mind that is just an idea where maybe you can start from..
If something is wrong, maybe some experts have more better suggestions than mine.

Regards,
simo

Attachments

Jaguarjoe

Joined Apr 7, 2010
Dropping 20v across the 1Ω current sense resistor will be problematic for an automotive circuit with a 12v supply. Picking a 0.25Ω resistor will provide 5v which can be fed directly into a μC's ADC (analog) input, but even 0.25Ω/ 5v is still 10 or 20 times larger drop than what you'd want. Filtering and spike protection will also be needed.

You could try one of these:

http://www.devicecraft.com/haefcuse1.html