Differentiator circuit help

chowdhas

Joined Apr 6, 2012
Hi,
I am pretty new to hobby electronics and am looking for some help:
The task:
To convert a long (approx 90 sec) duration 0-12-0 V square wave into 2 pulses of >5V and >1sec duration - one at onset and one at offset of square wave.
(Why: To drive a 5 or 12 V relay to activate an RF transmitter pulse to switch on a latching RF receiver at start of square wave and then another pulse to switch it off at end of square wave).
The circuit and the oscilloscope traces are got are shown in the attached file.
The problem:
The onset pulse works fine but the offset one is feeble to absent.
The basic differentiator circuit worked fine producing onset/offset spikes at +12V and -10.67V respectively. I then added the bridge to rectify 2 positive signals at +12 / +10 V. I put this into an N -MOSFET BUT as soon as I hook the drain to any load the voltage of the offset spike drops dramatically and always matches the MOSFET gate threshold - therefore not really producing much of an activation.
Can anyone suggest what I am doing wrong here, or a better way of trying to achieve my project.
Many thanks
Saqib

Attachments

panic mode

Joined Oct 10, 2011
there is more than one problem with that circuit. for example it is powered by pulse it is expected to process. when pulse is off, there is nothing mosfet can do to illuminate that LED.

also for transistor to turn on gate has to be positive relative to source terminal.
on rising edge that happens because gate gets positive pulse through upper right diode and source connects to ground through lower left diode in bridge.
on negative pulse, gate is connected to ground through lower right diode while source connects through upper right diode to 137k resistor. if the transistor is turned on, the LED current would be limited by series connection of 220Ohm and 137k.

you could for example use XOR gate and tie input to your pulse, other input to RC delay.

chowdhas

Joined Apr 6, 2012