Difference Between PIC16F84A-20/P and PIC16F84A

roist

Joined Mar 13, 2008
Hi All,

I am just starting out with PICs. Some of the resources I am using use the PIC16F84A for examples. As I cannot buy this chip from Altronics, they only sell the PIC16F84A-20/P, what are the differences between the two chips and what problems may I face attempting to program it?

Cheers.

Additionally - Im using this PIC because the books I have use it as an example. Some webpage resources recommend the use of the PIC16F628 instead. Please comment.

Thankyou for your time.

n9352527

Joined Oct 14, 2005
-20/P is the frequency and packaging designations. It is a 20MHz part in commercial DIL package. It is an obsolete part, but if you want to strictly follow the book, go for it. Otherwise F628 or F88 is cheaper and better alternatives.

atferrari

Joined Jan 6, 2004
I agree with n9...

After some circuits as per the book when you decide to kick your fisrt own one, buy two 16F88 (or, why not?, one from the 18F family) and go ahead.

Nomad

Joined Oct 21, 2007
dont forget microchip has a nice sample program on their website. you can a couple of i think 3 or 4 different chips. they make their money when you turn around later and buy hundreds of your favorites. or hundreds of thousands for production of that great gizmo you designed. oh and if you decide to replace that 84a with a 628 or 88 pin for pin compatible chip, remember they're newer and have more things like comparators etc that have to be turned off for your 84a program to work.

Nomad

Joined Oct 21, 2007