Diesel Generator. Need To Kill If Over Temp...

NFA Fabrication

Joined Aug 12, 2012
I am assuming that there is a very simple solution to this. A friend of mine has a diesel generator that he wants to add something to that will shut it off if it gets to a temp over it's normal operating range.

What I have already is a relay that if activated, will kill the fuel solenoid on the injection pump, and a Chevy temp sensor with a varying resistance output. I figure I will just be making a simple voltage divider with the sensor, and a resistor to make a voltage signal reflecting temperature.

So what it comes down to, is that I need to make a circuit that will activate a relay when a certain voltage input is reached. I am pretty limited as I am new to electronics, but I put together a way to make it work, but it is based on an LM3914, and I was just going to use one of the LED outputs that activated at the voltage I wanted, to operate a transistor to drive the relay. It would probably work, but is probably the wrong way to do it, as I am still pretty limited, but learning by the day! Thanks for any ideas!

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
... I put together a way to make it work, but it is based on an LM3914, and I was just going to use one of the LED outputs that activated at the voltage I wanted, to operate a transistor to drive the relay.
That's not a bad approach, although it's overkill. A single comparator (instead of 10, and the other circuitry in that IC) would do the job.

That said, using the LM3914 allows you to add indicator lights to actually show the temperature before the tripping point is reached. You could use the ubiquitous LM339 quad comparator to get 4 levels.

NFA Fabrication

Joined Aug 12, 2012
Do you know the resistance of the temp sensor at the trip temperature?
Here is a reference chart:

I am assuming my cut-off is going to be around 200F - 210F. Lets just say 180 Ohms would be the desired cut-off.