Detect rotation/force, set timer, emit loud beep/noise

lunitunez

Joined May 21, 2008
howdy folks, I'm a novice to circuitry, but I had an idea for a homebrew project. I was looking for some guidance as to specific information/terminology to look into, so I can look in the right direction as to what I should be researching to make my project a success.

My main goals for this "Identify location by sound" project

1. be as small as possible approx. (1" x 1" x 1/2" ) if feasible

2. least amount of mass/weight.

3. low power consumption

now since im a novice i could be out on a limb here if this is even feasible

basicly i want this device to have an on/off switch,whether it be a switch, or a pressable toggle on/off clickable button

powered by a battery, hopefully of the calculator, watch variety (assuming this circuitry I speak of hopefully consumes a low amount of power)

so with the device on, it would first detect spinning/movement, hopefully there would be a threshold where just picking it up/walking around with it isnt detected, but like a constant rotation/movement force of at least 5-10 seconds, ive done some research and it seems an IC "accelerometer" would do the trick.

once this is detected it would then communicate this information to a circuit that sets itself on a timer of 5-10 minutes

If it is not reset during this time then it would send a signal to a component that emits a loud beep/noise (from a power consumption standpoint the device I speak of will hopefully be reset by the user before this takes place, so therefore when the loud noise is utilized it would be active for maybe 5-10 minutes max, in a day, however this is user dependent so 5-10 is a variable, but shouldnt fluctuate too much)

then I would need a mechanism to reset until the next time the same force is detected again if I so choose. (this will probaby be seperate from the on/off power switch)