Designing of circuit

adriano08

Joined Apr 25, 2010
:)Hello.

I was thinking of trying out something that relates to robotic. I am still a beginner. :p

I've been reading up a lot through the web recently...
Okay, so here's the idea.

I understand the theory in having a h-bridge for dc motor, so I tried simulating using 4 NPN transistors and it works fine. I checked around and found that 2 NPN and 2 PNP transistors can also be use. The question is what's the difference?

And for configuration wise, if I use MOSFET to replace the normal BJT transistors, is it the same? Gate as the base? Drain as the collector? source as emitter? No extra thing to take note about? I can add a diode for extra protection even if there's one inside a MOSFET.
Another concern is how does a optocoupler works actually? I read it up but still have some doubts. An LED lighted up and forces an electrical contact with to the transistor base so that current can flow through Bce??:confused:

Next the dc motor speed will be control by 555 timer... varying the duty cycle..

And lastly how do I use a remote control (those for toy car) to control my dc motor? There must be some IR receiver? TSOP1738? Or any other suitable one?

I do not plan to use MCT to draft out this.. maybe just a analogue based design is enough. Are there any device to control the direction of motor? Let's say to control it to move left or right. Servo can but need programming...

Everything's feasible??

Yup I'm still learning. Thanks all. :)

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
Quoted text from the O/P is in blue text.

I understand the theory in having a h-bridge for dc motor, so I tried simulating using 4 NPN transistors and it works fine. I checked around and found that 2 NPN and 2 PNP transistors can also be use. The question is what's the difference?