Designing an affordable RTLS

GenericJoe

Joined Aug 31, 2013
Hello, I would appreciate you guys helping me figure out how to solve or at least get started with this “real-time location system” problem. I am quite new to electronics but am a fast learner.

Imagine a small outside open area, like a field where physical obstruction is to a minimum. The size is about 200 meters squared. In this field are people running around, perhaps playing a sport like football, or racing bmx’s etc. I want to record / display in real time the location of every person on the field. The people I intend to track are willing to wear a small device to transmit/receive signals, and I can place static transceivers around the field, say one in every corner.

At this moment I am not too concerned about the software needed to display the data - I am more interested in how this might work with affordable electronics, and unfortunately this area is not my expertise, hence me asking for advice.

From what I have read, trilateration (not triangulation) is what I need. I should use four transceivers on the corner of the fields to collect the “info” from the people. The people on the field will use a trasmitter / transceiver / transponder to automatically emit their info, at as fast a rate as possible, maybe at least 30hz. This info will be a unique ID and the signal strength / channel power of the moving object, for which I can use trilateration to calculate the positions.

I do not think GPS will be sufficient for me to due to lack of accuracy and high power consumption. I don't think that bluetooth will have sufficient range.

Does this sound valid? Can anyone suggest improvements or critique this? How will I sync the transmissions?

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010