Designing a tiny 240VAC-12VDC Switch Mode Supply

brbaker

Joined Apr 28, 2014
Hi,
I need a very tiny low power (1.5W) 12 volt mains driven supply. My design goal is to include a micro controller and the 12 volt supply into something the size of a normal wall charger pack.
I am an experienced digital circuit designer but have never built a switch mode supply before and do not know were to start. There seem to be many different design approaches (buck, boost, flyback, ...) and I don't know the pros and cons of each approach.
All designs I have seen are for very high power supplies. I need something low power, with a small form factor, and would survive a proper CE tick electrical certification.
I have two questions:
1. Can anyone point me to good resources to walk me through how to design a switch mode supply.
2. If there are folk who can offer design services (paid or a collaboration) and have experience in this exact type of solution please let me know.
Thanks and have a great day!
Bryon

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Why do want to build it your self? It is very easy to get a premade CE marked power module of the shelf very cheap. Even with a very small foorprint

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Unless you believe that you can sell hundreds of thousands of your product, you really should use an off-the-shelf wall-wart type supply that already is CE'ed; otherwise your per-unit cost will be many times what it could be.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
As with any offline anything, it's all about the iron. Switching power supply transformer is a bear to design. There are online calculators to spit out the basic inductances; building one that works is a whole other thing. And they don't get easier at low power levels.