Delta V 4 wire 4-20mA input module

bustr

Joined Jul 9, 2009
Forgive my ignorance on the subject. I'm fairly new to I&E design. Can someone enlighten me about where a 4 wire 4-20mA input module might be used besides an RTD?

Thanks

Mike

Last edited:

gryskop

Joined Mar 1, 2008
Any instrument that needs external power to power the transmitter (typical supply 110V/220VAC).

Instruments such as Magflow, Ultrasonic level transmitters, Density, analyzers etc.

bustr

Joined Jul 9, 2009
Thanks. I was also wondering now if anyone has an example of a loop. My senior designer is telling me I need a 4 wire Delta V input card and I don't know why. This is a micromotion 1700 coriolis flow transmitter with MVD technology.

All of the other field powered loops I've done have only involved two-wire input or output cards.

Am I confused or is he?

Von

Joined Oct 29, 2008
It may be that the "4-wire" input card has the terminals for the loop power supply (integrated) and then terminals for the 4-20 ma. loop to the field devices. i.e. the micromotion 1700.