Deep cycle Lead-Acid battery charger (48v)

engineeringfront

Joined Dec 5, 2011
Hello everyone!

This is my first post here, so I'll briefly introduce myself: My name is Francisco, I am 22 years old and I live in Argentina. I am a technician in Aeronautics and I´m studying Aeronautical Engineering.

Together with 2 friends we set to build an electric motorcycle. We are designing the structure and we bought the motor (48V 2KW BLDC hub motor), controller and throttle from GoldenMotor in China (http://www.goldenmotor.com/). We also got 4 deep cycle lead acid batteries to power it at 48v DC.

The issue we are trying to solve now is the battery charging. We want to be able to charge the 4 batteries together (they will be connected in serial reaching 48V). Argentina power lines are 220V AC ~50Hz and we would like to find a solution that let us plug the motorbike directly to a regular power outlet (the charger will be mounted on the bike, so it should be compact and low-weight).

Non of us is really experienced in electronics, but we understand the very basics.

I will really appreciate any advice you could give us.

Thanks

Francisco Piaser

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I don't have a full solution for you, but I encourage you to consider solutions that charge the 4 batteries independently instead of in series. This strategy will be far superior in extending the life of your batteries and ensuring an optimal charge in each.

engineeringfront

Joined Dec 5, 2011
Hi wayneh thanks for your answer! I hope not to bother you too much with a few more questions. Can I charge them individually while they are still connected in serial? Also, will I need 4 individual chargers to do this? Thanks again!

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Can I charge them individually while they are still connected in serial?
Yes, you can.

Also, will I need 4 individual chargers to do this?