DC Buck & Boost

bumba000

Joined Oct 7, 2015
Hello All,
So I have created so far a boost converter which is driven by my arduino's pwm. Without drawing up a schematic of what I've done as I'm sure you're all knowledgeable enough to understand what I must have done, I am trying to keep a steady output voltage when various loads are attached.

I am using a single cell 3.7-4.2v 18650 type of battery, a mosfet two capacitors, a shottky diode and have tried a wide range of inductors from 0.06uH to 0.110uH. I can get a lot of volts out this thing but the voltage is always reduced to almost nothing when I attach a load.

I am attempting to power a small heating element. These elements range in ohms from 0.02 up to 1.8. My ideal output voltage would be 5V and I would like 10 amps. I cant figure out whether I need to do some type of load isolation, need more boost or what.

While this isn't my first electronics project I am still pretty new to all of this and would really appreciate some help.

Thank You, John

P.S. I say buck and boost because I want the power out to be adjustable from 3 to 5 volts. As previously stated - I am triggering the mosfet via arduino pwm..

bumba000

Joined Oct 7, 2015
Thank you. I didn't realize that there are actually many ways that this could have been laid out. I wasn't really sure how to depict the arduino's attachment here, but the rest is accurate.

bumba000

Joined Oct 7, 2015
my arduino is actually a pro trinket 3.3v and it runs as 8MHz. So, as I understand it the PWM is running at 100KHz.

I was using diode DO204AL but have pulled a much larger one out of an old power supply thinking that might help. it did not.
The inductor is 33uH and I've have tried 8uH and 110uH. The capacitors are electrolytic . C1 is 16v 10uF and C2 was the same but am now using 35V 220uF.

The mosfet that I'm using now is STP27N3LH5 I was using RLB8721

Last edited:

Lestraveled

Joined May 19, 2014