Current density

antennaboy

Joined Jan 31, 2008
Hello All,
I am new to this great forum and have a question about current density and perfect conductors.
If the conductor is perfect, the conductivity is infinite, E is said to be
zero inside.
For a a certain voltage (say 5V) does the current flow inside the conductor or on the surface? why?
For waves traveling in lossy dielectrics (materials with some conductivity) energy is lost. But then I read that a perfect conductor does not dissipate any energy since there is no work to push the charges.
Confused...
thank you

nomurphy

Joined Aug 8, 2005
1) If the conductor is perfect, the conductivity is infinite, E is said to be zero inside.

Yes, if the impedance were zero then there would not be a voltage drop across the conductor and no loss (usually radiated heat). But, a perfect conductor does not exist -- there is always some loss, even in super conductors.

2) For a certain voltage (say 5V) does the current flow inside the conductor or on the surface? why?

For AC current there is something called the skin effect -- look it up.

3) For waves traveling in lossy dielectrics (materials with some conductivity) energy is lost. But then I read that a perfect conductor does not dissipate any energy since there is no work to push the charges.

This goes back to question 1, there is no perfect conductor.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Current flow is on the surface. Like charges repel each other; opposites attract.

A perfect conductor is an interesting concept. It would have a minimum diameter of one molecule of the conducting material. But to even approach that, you'd have to get the material near absolute zero. If you DID somehow manage to reach absolute zero, all molecular activity would cease. But then, movement of electrons and holes would be molecular activity, right?

It's a paradox.

Dave

Joined Nov 17, 2003
Hello All,
I am new to this great forum and have a question about current density and perfect conductors.