current and electrons

samjesse

Joined Sep 14, 2008
Hi

please take what I am going to say with a grain of salt, I am a beginner and trying to crawl, I would appreciate your help though.

if current is the flow of charge, and that charge moves inside the wire very slowly.
then it is not possible to have a 5 amp in a DC "every-day" circuit since 5 amps means 5 coulomb per second, and one coulomb is equal to 6.5x10^15 charge, i.e.
5 amp = 3.125x10^16 charges flowing per second.
that does not seam very slow to me when I learned that charge is a substance-like from which the atom is built.

I may still have not settled it, as what is a charge and what is an electron.

I know electrons do not flow inside the wire, i.e. current is NOT the flow of electrons because if it is then
how many electrons will flow in a 5 amp circuit, and if there are 2 wires of different materials in the circuit (say copper and silver) then the electrons from the copper wire will mix with the electrons of the silver wire and after n time we will have a one material wire equal to the mix of all the electrons and that just does not happen.

I have been reading a lot here and there and things do not add up.

Thanks

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
In wires, current is the movement of charge. Electrons are the charge carriers. The number of electrons in a given cross section of wire (or any conductor) is huge, so the actual motion of any one electron is not that great for any current.

Can you say how you know that -
I know electrons do not flow inside the wire, i.e. current is NOT the flow of electrons
As far as electrons are concerned, there is no particular flavor put on them if they are associated with any metal or any other atom. So mixing electrons from two differeing conductors will not produce the effect you predict -