cruise control switch controlling my radio?

tdubliture

Joined Sep 3, 2009
I am a newbie here but i like what you guys are doing. I was hoping someone could help me out here. I would like to add a circuit to my truck to control my radio with my cruise control switch when the cruise is not on. I don't know if it would be possible. I found online a schematic of the switch which is located at

http://www.tankota.net/repair/Repair_Manual/03tacoma/di/ccswetcs/ciccs.pdf

and the pioneer controls are in the attached picture. There are only three switches in the circuit which would be plenty for what I want. I would really like to have
RES/ACC control volume up
SET/Coast control volume down and
Cancel control next track

so i did the math and that means that
240 OHMS would have to be converted to 16 KOhms
630 OHMS would have to be converted to 24 KOHMS
1540 OHMS would have to be converted to 8KOHMS

Is this possible?

Attachments

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
Welcome to AAC!
It might behoove you to Ohm out those switches on your cruise control to make certain that as each switch opens another one closes. What I'm saying is it's entirely possible that more than one set of contacts are closed for a given position. If that's the case you will have to recalculate your resistors. I'm not saying this is so... just say'n it wouldn't hurt to verify. ;)

BTW, if we had a weird post award this one might make it into the hall of fame!:rolleyes:

Last edited:

tdubliture

Joined Sep 3, 2009
did you see the link? As it sits all the switches are open and as the button is pushed the resistance is asserted I can double check though

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
did you see the link? As it sits all the switches are open and as the button is pushed the resistance is asserted I can double check though
Yes, I looked at the link. I have to check my truck because I believe all my cruise functions are momentary. I'll post when I get home from work.

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008