Critique My Logic Circuit Simulator

Alrecenk

Joined May 2, 2011
I've made a program that interprets the pixels in an image as logic gates, which allows you to design logic circuits in paint and then tweak and run them in my program. I don't really know all that much about circuit design. My background is more in high level computer science. I got started with playing with redstone in Minecraft, but found it quite slow (to build with and to execute), so I started trying to make something similar, but faster and easier to use. I'm curious what people who actually know something about logic circuit design think of the set-up, and what should be added to make it more useful or usable or fun. Here's the link to the program:
http://www.alrecenk.com/games/CircuitEditor/

The basic idea is that each pixel is interpreted as one of 7 blocks (by color obviously), which can each be either on or off (also indicated by color). It saves/loads both the types and states of blocks as PNG, but it does a sort of circuit compilation when opened in the program so that it can tick at a few kilohertz. I could probably make it faster, but so far it's been sufficient. The blocks are as follows (copied from the read-me):

Black : does nothing
White : Wire, turns on if connected to an output which is on
Red : Not, turns on if not connected to a wire that is on

Cyan : And, turns on if all connecting wires are on, also useful as a diode to prevent signals from feeding backwards from on OR or other operation

Blue : Output, turns on if a neighboring operation block is on (NOT,AND, or MEMOUT)

Green : Wire crossing, passes signals between left and right separately from signals going up and down. Neighbor positions are calculated as the first non-green block in each of the four directions. .This means green blocks can be placed between the interactions of any other blocks.

Yellow: Memory Input, Turns on if any neighboring wires are on