Creating different duty cycles?

peck68

Joined Nov 27, 2009
Im still a novice at all this, and i'm learning the 555 timer - however i have been reading this awesome tutorial on it http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/555timer.htm

But though, i want to learn how to create different duty cycles. Since the little guide on there doesn't really help me much so i was wondering for some extra support from this forum?

peck68

Joined Nov 27, 2009
Anything really, 75%/90%/25% etc - basically just learn how to change it to my desired needs, since i want to dim LEDs (as a project for me to do)

Last edited:

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
On that same page you linked to, scroll about halfway down until you see "To achieve a duty cycle of less than 50%" in red on the left.

Look at the schematic on the right.

Then, look at the schematic and simulation that I've attached. It's very similar, except I've replaced R2 with a 100k potentiometer (pot).

Adjusting pot R2 will give you a very wide range of duty cycle outputs, from around 3% to around 98%.

R1 must be present, and it should be at minimum 100 Ohms for each volt of Vcc. Without R1, if you turned the pot all the way up, the timer's pin 7 would be shorted to Vcc, which would destroy the timer and/or the pot.

C1 is the timing capacitor. If you want to use it to flash LEDs at a slow rate, increase the size of the timing capacitor. 10uF to 100uF will make the flashes quite visible.

C2 keeps the control voltage stable. It is not critical, and may be omitted if you don't care about accuracy of your PWM.
C3 and C4 are required. Without them, your timer may not function correctly.

If you wish to use it as an LED dimmer, decrease C1 to 10nF (0.01uF), and the on/off cycle will be so rapid that you will not see the flashing.

Note that if you are dimming LEDs, you must still use a resistor to limit the maximum LED current.

Attachments

peck68

Joined Nov 27, 2009
Ahh thank you :D