Couple of failed Vellman builds.

AJS14

Joined Feb 4, 2014
My first two builds ever didnt work. One kind of functions and the other is dead under power. I didn't expect them to work but I had hope lol

How do I troubleshoot these? I don't really care that they didn't work in fact I think its a plus. What I want to do is find the faults and learn from them. I dont see any shorts on the boards but Im new to all of this.

Thanks in advance.

TANDBERGEREN

Joined Jan 20, 2014
You could first tell us what projects it is.
Then tell us what kind of problems you experience.
Schematics and pictures is always a good help.

And at last: How experienced are You? Have You ever built any electronics earlier?

AJS14

Joined Feb 4, 2014
Ok I guess we should do these one at a time. This is Vellman MK102 it is supposed to alternate light LEDs but it just lights up the one on the left.

I do not have any previous experience building electronics. I want to build some noise box kits from Music From Outer Space and to that end I decided I need to become competent at assembling electronics from kits so I decided to get some interesting inexpensive kits to practice with.

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
this circuit is notorious to fail at random point of time or never to work at all.

But also the LED could be broken, or soldered wrongly. The solder joints don't look perfect either, suggest to reheat all + add tin.

LEDs can actually break from soldering quite easily- even with a lot of experience, I try to leave some distance (on the wire legs). If I have to solder them without a gap, some LEDs will always die from the heat.

Your 9v battery could be empty- you need a DMM (digital multimeter), if you don't already have one. Make sure both LEDs work with the DMM continuity tester.

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
Tht's an astable and that was the first thing I ever build.

But is the picture coloring or are all those 10K resistors.
If that is the case it will never work.

What I remember was