Coponents in Parallel

Galibore

Joined May 22, 2012
Hi Guys,

I'm a programmer and don't know much about electronics, so please excuse the rookie question:

I have a 9V battery with which I want to power my Netduino as well as a 5V 16x2 Serial LCD Screen (from Grove).

Is this possible and if so, can someone explain to me how to wire it?

I can power the LCD with the Netduino's 5V output, but the when I use the screen's backlight, it starts flickering very faintly. This was when I was powering the Netduino with the USB cable.

Hope I make sense.

Thanks in advance. Cheers.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
We use voltage rgulators such as LM7805 or LM317 to change 9 volts to 5 volts. Is this what you're asking about?

ps, a rectangular 9 volt battery is rather weak in the current department. It will not come close to the 1/2 amp you can get from a USB 2.0 port.

Galibore

Joined May 22, 2012
Thanks for the response 12.

The LCD will be mounted on my robot, so USB is not really an option.

So what you are saying that I have two circuits in parallel, One just connects straight to the Netduino's 9-12V barrel jack, the other has a regulator and the LCD in series? Would it not be possible to just drop the volatge using resitors?

Thanks for your help!

BillB3857

Joined Feb 28, 2009
Dropping voltage with resistors worksIF the load current is known and remains constant. (Ohms law E=IR ) so IF you know the current draw of the display, AND it remains constant, a resistor will work. A regulator, on the other hand, will accommodate not only changes in load, but variations in input voltage as well.

Last edited:

Galibore

Joined May 22, 2012
I see. Thanks a lot. Then regulator it is. One more question though.

Let's assume the display uses 0.2A of current. Then, by my calcs (which is probably wrong), the regulator would have to get rid of 4V x 0.8A = 3.2W of power. Would that not cause a lot of heat?

Joined Nov 30, 2010