Conversion of Single phase AC generator to self start

sohaib.rafique

Joined Apr 13, 2011
Hello!

I am new to this forum and i have a querry.

I have a single phase AC generator rated 1KVA. this is not self starting it is operated by pulling the rope or you can say kick start.
I have 2 issues
1. I want to convert this into self starting, means generator should start either by a button or ignition key.
2. I want my generator to start automatically when the supply from the utility is broken.

can anyone help me by providing the schematic diagram or provide me link to any such website or attach any document for my guidance. I want the solution with expolanation. I am a fresh Electrical Engineer.

eblc1388

Joined Nov 28, 2008
Your AC generator requires some form of mechanical power to start.

If you want it to start automatically by pushing a button, ask yourself where do that mechanical power come from? If you said battery, then use an automobile starter.

Your second question is easy too. An AC voltage relay connected to the mains, with a few seconds delay on opening will trigger the above starter to start up the generator.

You real problem comes when the power from the utility returns and you have to transfer the load back to the utility.

thakid87

Joined May 23, 2009
Do you want it to just turn on automatically? Or do you want it to turn on automatically and pick up the load?

If the latter, I highly suggest getting an automatic transfer switch.

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
His real problem actually lies in the gen set starter motor.
What he needs is a 12/24V Starting motor and the gear mechanism needed to turn the flywheel in order to get the generator running. Without these, it is impossible to start a genset.

I like to know whether OP has these already in the genset, if yes, then the rest is quite easy.
but still OP needs to show the load ratings and pictures

sohaib.rafique

Joined Apr 13, 2011