controller choice - RGB Needs

amueller

Joined Apr 11, 2012
Hey guys,

I am very new to all this, but do have a EE background and have (in many years past) worked on embedded controllers. With that said, treat me as a complete moron :)

I want to create an application whereby I trigger a set of RGB LEDs in specific lighting patterns. I am thinking of a circular lighting arrangement around an 8" diameter hole. Approximately 20 LED's around this hole.

1 pattern may be: color changes around the circle, i.e., from light blue to blue moving in a circular fashion clockwise.

Essentially, though, I want to be able to control the lights individually if possible.. if that takes a lot of cost, then I would likely have 2-4 'sets' of LEDs that I would control the color of as a group and work it that way.

My question is this: What is the best way to do something like this? I notice that many of the boards can only control 2-4 LEDs via the PWM outputs (I think), so that would not allow me to individually control all of the LEDs.

I would prefer the 'easiest' way, if possible, since I am new to this. But I don't want to pay $200 for ease either :) I'm willing to put in the work.

Thanks in advance!!

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008
If you have 20 RGB LEDs then you essentially have 60 LEDs. Think about operating them in a matrix fashion, and they'll be in triads so 8x8 won't work, but 7x9 will, so you'd actually end up with 21 RGB LEDs.

That would require 16 controllable pins of a processor, though you can improve that by sending the data out to 2 74HC595 shift registers. The real programming trick would be setting up independent PWM operation of each of the 63 outputs. That might be a challenge, but it's a feasible project with a mid-sized PIC processor like the PIC16F690.

amueller

Joined Apr 11, 2012
ok, maybe the individual may not be the best route then :)

I could do this in quadrants, though. Example: