Constant Current Source, Current Mirror??

robby991

Joined Dec 17, 2007
Hello I am a newbie to electric circuits and I need to build a constant current source to drive continuous current into a chip. Someone told me to use a current mirror to generate this current source, but I have a few questions regarding this. My first question is how a current mirror differs from a norml constant current source with a transistor and LED. I found schematics of this type of constant current source and it seems farily simple. Also, in the schematics of these current mirrors, I am confused where to get the current output from. For example, if I need 50mA current, how do I design this current mirror to generate that, and where in the circuit is the output that I connect to the input of my chip? Can someone please explain this to me? Thank you for all your help.

robby991

Joined Dec 17, 2007
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Current_source

Scroll down to "Simple transistor current source with LED". The LED replaces the diode. How is a current mirror different/better than this configuration? Both seems to provide a constant current source, I can't seem to figure out why one is preferred over the other.

Thanks for all the information, I am reading up on it now. I'll let you know if I have any questions :cool:

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005

Scroll down to "Simple transistor current source with LED". The LED replaces the diode. How is a current mirror different/better than this configuration? Both seems to provide a constant current source, I can't seem to figure out why one is preferred over the other.

Thanks for all the information, I am reading up on it now. I'll let you know if I have any questions :cool:
A current mirror replicates the input current (with a scale factor), but the direction of the current is reversed. In order to get a constant current out, you need a constant current in.