Connecting this switch to a 9V battery

David_Baratheon

Joined Feb 10, 2012
I'm pretty new to practical electronics and am a bit jumpy about soldering, connecting stuff up etc after seeing how a 9V battery can cause an LED to explode without a limiting resistor.

I just soldered this switch to a battery holder and put a 9V battery in and the switch lit up without me connecting it to anything else. does it have internal resistance and is it safe?

http://www.sci.com.tw/PRODUCTS/switch/(R13) PUSH SWITCH/R13-508.htm

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
I'd doubt the switch has a resistor in it (maybe..can't tell from that datasheet).. A simple resistance test with a multimeter will answer that for you.
A 9V battery (and any battery) has its own "internal resistance" in it. This is how many of the cheap LED toys get away with just a battery and LED (no resistor)

David_Baratheon

Joined Feb 10, 2012
why does it light up when I connect the negative and positive terminals to the 9V battery though? It lit up for a few seconds then went dead so I might have killed it, but I don't see how your supposed to connect this to a battery without shorting it.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
ah yes now we get the missing info.. you never said it went dead before.
Yes you simply destroyed the LED.

You need a resistor (330ohm or 360 ohm 1/4 W)in series with the LED to limit the current from the 9V battery.. try again..

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
why does it light up when I connect the negative and positive terminals to the 9V battery though? It lit up for a few seconds then went dead so I might have killed it, but I don't see how your supposed to connect this to a battery without shorting it.
Yes, you likely ruined the LED. Which version of the switch do you have?

David_Baratheon

Joined Feb 10, 2012