Computational Electromagnetic

haditya

Joined Jan 19, 2004
hi..
any one here workin in this field? i know what the cousre involves but any info wud help..
i intend to pursue my post-graduation in this field..
can some1 please tell me what job prospects in both academic research and industry are like
i am an undergrad EE student.
my course is heavy on power engg.
so i was wondering if computational EM with power engg application wud be the correct approach.. say things like EMI/EMC

aditya

ps- feels good to be back at aac

Dave

Joined Nov 17, 2003
Hi haditya, nice to see you posting back here at AAC.

A lot of the work I do is in the field of computational electromagnetics, more specifically electromagnetic tomography and dielectric heating technologies. These fields are different than power engineering which I have nothing more than an appreciation of the fundamentals (I suppose dielectric heating is loosely tied to power engineering) .

As for career prospects, in UK (I cannot really comment about other parts of the world) there is a large scope for academics in the general field of computational EM. There are two main drivers for this, firstly technology has improved such that modelling and simulation of quite complex EM applications are available due to both advanced and networked computer systems and better simulation software; and secondly the focus of many EM applications has grown in recent times, particularly as we move towards a connected and wireless world.