compressor motor will not start.....

bigblock81

Joined Feb 24, 2013
Hello to all and thank you in advance for any insight you can give me. I installed an outlet plug for my three wire 240v 30 amp air compressor today and when it turned on, I shut off the breaker to make sure I had the right circuit. I made the change, tried it and it was working fine. I did the same thing again, when it was running I tripped the breaker to reroute a wire. Now it will not work, nothing at all, not a sound. I have never used the breaker before to turn it off and am afraid I messed something up. It has power into the motor on the two hots according to my meter, pressure switch is fine. I tried the red reset button, spinning it by hand, and letting all air out. Please help.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Seems too simple from here. The 240 volts is being applied to the terminals of the motor and the motor doesn't even notice. The motor only has one job: to turn when 240 volts is applied to its power terminals, therefore, the motor has something wrong with it.

(Spinning it by hand removes the capacitor from the equation.)

bigblock81

Joined Feb 24, 2013
Maybe I didn't say this right, I only moved the motor with a screw driver through the guard a few turns from where it was, not spun it over rapidly with power applied.

I guess I was looking for something easy. Maybe something simple I am missing.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Well, I bought a cheap compressor from Harbor Freight and the wire fell off the capacitor. It wouldn't start, so I looked at the wiring and found the problem without a meter.

bigblock81

Joined Feb 24, 2013
Looks like I will do more detective work. Are both "humps" on the motor capacitors? I will look at all connections, and see if I can find instructions on how to test capacitors. I am an autobody tech with limited experience repairing ac motors.

JDT

Joined Feb 12, 2009
Probably. If you have two capacitors, one is the starting capacitor and the other is the "run" capacitor.