Completely new at this

32_d3gr33s

Joined Oct 29, 2011
I'm interested in making a lightbar and or traffic advisor in about 1:10 scale for some Rc cars. Problem is, I have no experience in anything of this nature. I actually have a lightbar that I purchased online, but want to see if there is a cheaper solution for making multiple more of them because I have 4 Rc cars and my buddy has a few as well.

For the lightbar I have this, and want to make something similar. It doesn't need this many patterns but the more it has the better.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=APWo7tweUYc&feature=youtube_gdata_player

I also would like to be able to make something similar to this...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_yhwi3skbY&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Basically I want both about 3-4 inches wide. Not sure what led's to use so make any necessary suggestions. I'm assuming I will probably have to program a chip or something for the flash patterns so please explain or link how to do that. The lights don't nessisarily have to be on the circuit board, because I will more than likely make a custom housing for the LEDs

Any help would be awesome as I'm trying to get these done before Christmas.

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010