Complete Newbie...Need some direction

blawson7

Joined Sep 24, 2010
Sorry for the long post.

I have wanted to get into microcontroller programming for years, and now I'm finally gonna get into it.

I already have a project in mind, but don't know how to decide whether to go PIC or AVR...and which IC to use for that matter. I don't want to buy the programmer and install the compiler/software for an IC that I shouldn't be using.

Here's my idea:
I live in Texas and hunt with my brothers. We want our own game feeder timers that will control a motor to spin out corn from the bottom of a barrel. Yes, I know that these have already been invented, but I want to experiment and I'd like to have a few added features that don't normally come with regular game feeders (to be added after I get the basics working). Essentially, I want an alarm clock that will have multiple alarms per day. I don't care about date or DST, just a clock with multiple alarms. I also want each alarm to go for a configurable number of seconds and then shut off. This also has to be low power as it will be running on batteries. One addon will probably have something to do with RF so if there's any IC that may have this capability, that should help narrow down what I need.

I want it to be user friendly and easy to use. I was thinking about having 5 buttons: a menu/enter button, 2 arrow buttons to move the cursor left and right and 2 arrows to adjust the times up and down. I want to use an HD44780 LCD 16x2.

Having been a software engineer for nearly 10 years, I have the programming background and the willingness to learn new things.

Rbeckett

Joined Sep 3, 2010