Colpitts Oscillator Frustration

Xupack

Joined Jun 4, 2013
Hey everyone!

Long time lurker, first time poster. I'm a fourth year electrical engineering student, my major is geared more towards power applications/renewable energy but have always been interesting in radio engineering (it's what actually got me into electrical engineering) and I'm a bit ashamed to ask such a basic question. I've been trying to build a basic wireless switch for a while now and came across some circuits online. While researching I've encountered the Colpitts oscillator (to generate a carrier frequency) a few times but I can't seem to figure out how it works (I hate building circuits without understanding the ins and outs of it).

I'm trying to figure out this one, in particular: http://www.learnabout-electronics.org/Oscillators/images/Colpitts-01.gif

I understand that we need a positive feedback at the required frequency for oscillation to occur, negative feedback to stabilize the output and some form of amplification. However, I really need someone to explain to significance of each component in the circuit (no need to explain the tank circuit, and the fact that the transistor is in essence an amplifier)

And if it's not too much to ask an explanation for this circuit, as well: http://www.pyroelectro.com/projects/pyro_rf_transmitter_27mhz/img/oscillator_theory.png

Thanks in advance!

Joined Nov 30, 2010
R1 and R2 set a voltage level on the base and provide base current. R3 limits the collector current as (Vbase - .6V) / R3 = collector current.
C4 sends some signal to the emitter resistor as the feedback path.

There is a parasitic capacitance from collector to base, but a good design will use capacitors big enough to make that insignificant or take it into consideration while doing the math. It's called, "Miller" capacitance and the effect is negative feedback.

C1 renders the base void of AC, so the feedback must be through C4.
That's the half I can do.

Attachments

vk6zgo