Cold Heat?

Status
Not open for further replies.

UncleDarryl

Joined Feb 5, 2007
I searched the forums here to see if there were any discussions about the "Cold Heat" soldering tool, and found nothing, so here goes...

I'm a complete beginner with electronics, and I got one of these things as a gift. I cut and stripped a few lengths of solid 22ga to solder together for practice, and the results were frustrating to say the least. The solder beads up into little spheres, and almost seems to be repelled from the tool tip, making it impossible to form a joint. It either sticks to the end of the solder spool, or just literally rolls away. During the last attempt, the wire's insulation melted a bit. Making the contact to get the tip to heat up seemed to work about half the time.

As far as I can tell, I'm following the directions properly, but something is clearly wrong here. I've read some mixed reviews about Cold Heat, but given that I'm a beginner, it's hard for me to say if its my fault or the tool's (or a combination of both). I'm wondering if I should just go buy a regular soldering iron. Any advice?

Thanks

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
I was given one of the ColdHeat soldering irons as a gift and the one thing that I found is that it is not a soldering iron that is useful for anything larger that resistor lead.

It works for small solder jobs like mending jewelry and such but the problem I found was that it was difficult to control the heat when soldering large guage wires and component leads.

I think you will find yourself far better served if you go out and purchase a soldering iron with a wattage rating suited to the soldering you intend to perform.

hgmjr

mrmeval

Joined Jun 30, 2006
Weller is good and not too expensive. If you're going to be doing some very precise production work consider getting a Metcal system. They work very well and the tips outlast Weller a thousand fold.

goodbyegti

Joined Apr 28, 2004