Coil Tester Help

buygone

Joined May 15, 2008
Im having trouble nutting out a coil tester, below is the schematic I was following its one put together some time ago by another member.

Ive tried some dry test runs without success.
My shopping list was as follows C2 .22uf 275vac40/100/21, the relay is a D12Volt DPDT 10A/24vdc/220VAC, the D1 diode was a 1N4007, the C1 cap is one from the type of ignition systems Im going to test the coils from. The R1 resistor is a 10W10ohms. Power supply is from a 12volt battery.

If I try testing the circuit and runnig the + through the C2 resistor.... no joy, if I bypass the C2 the the relay buzzes furiously. Which I believe is not so good. Am I using the wrong resister in the C2 position.
I will be testing a lot of coils and dont want to be burning out relays frequently.

I'll be testing old magneto coils with this unit if I ever get it running and yes I am a novice so please be gentle.

Attachments

Last edited:

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Here, try it like the attached schematic.

Note that the relay's coil is now 5V.

I'm not certain what voltage the newer electronic ignition coils run on.

The older (pre-electronic ignition) coils would run on 12.6v when starting (for a hotter spark) and then 8v when running. Still, this should provide enough primary current to fire a plug that's gapped to 0.035"

Attachments

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005
A coil driven with too-high an EMF makes for a better chopper.:) Since the relay coil current is not continuous, and the buzzing only lasts a short interval of time, the relay actually holds up. I had a spark generator in high-school using a similar principle.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Bill, I put together the 1st schematic about 8 months ago for someone else. When I first looked at it again, it confused ME! :eek: ;)