Coffee Auto-fill

colbyjax

Joined Jun 21, 2013
I'm new to electronics and I'm trying to design a circuit to automatically fill a coffee pot. This would operate a water solenoid valve to fill the container. Once the container is filled to a set fill amount (one switch) or if it hits the kill switch (meaning the water would spill out, kind of a backup) the water solenoid valve would cut-off.

A switch would turn the system on. The hard part is, that once the fill valve cuts the water solenoid off, I don't want it to come back on. So if the coffee is brewing, lowering the water level, I don't want the solenoid to come back on. I designed a switch using a latching relay, but I think this design could be simplified. Looking for ideas.

Any help appreciated in advance.

Attachments

colbyjax

Joined Jun 21, 2013
Hi ErnieM,

Thanks for getting back to me.
When the 'System on' Switch is turned on, the relay has not been fired (until the fill switch).....so the relay contact (it is double throw) passes the voltage to the water solenoid (indicated by yellow led). When the fill switch (or kill switch) is activated, it fires the relay, so the contact breaks from the solenoid and connects to the brew process (led).

I have a very elementary understanding here, so I took a shot at it.....I was able to build this on a breadboard. It seems to me there might be an easier way using a transistor or MOSFET, but I just don't know enough about those to make that happen.

elec_mech

Joined Nov 12, 2008
Welcome to AAC.

I'm not quite following your drawing, but I think I understand what you're trying to do.

Take a look at the attached flowchart. Does this accurately describe what you're trying to accomplish?

If so, you can do with a 555 monostable circuit set for x seconds (max time you expect to fill an empty pot) with an edge-trigger and some logic gates - a 3-input AND gate and a couple of NOT gates depending on the sensors used.