CMOS AND gate

tejasdj12

Joined Jul 11, 2010
Hello Guys,
This should be my first thread. I'm a Electronics and Telecom student. Electronics is my current hobby. I'm quite new to some circuit concepts.
Today, I was playing with MOSFETs and designed an AND gate with it (Circuit I). After that, I googled and found another circuit (Circuit II). Is it fine that I don't add another pair of MOSFETs (MOSFETs 5 and 6 in Circuit II)? Or are there any sourcing or sinking problems with Circuit I?

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
Hello Guys,
This should be my first thread. I'm a Electronics and Telecom student. Electronics is my current hobby. I'm quite new to some circuit concepts.
Today, I was playing with MOSFETs and designed an AND gate with it (Circuit I). After that, I googled and found another circuit (Circuit II). Is it fine that I don't add another pair of MOSFETs (MOSFETs 5 and 6 in Circuit II)? Or are there any sourcing or sinking problems with Circuit I?
In circuit 1, your output is connected to the power supply. How is the output going to change?
Circuit 2 is a NAND gate. You have to add an inverter (NOT gate) to the output to make it an AND gate.

JMac3108

Joined Aug 16, 2010
You have your MOSFET symbols reversed. The IRF530 is an N-chan, but you show it as a P. The IRF9530 is a P-chan, but you show it as an N. You should probably redraw the circuit correctly so its better understood so people can comment on it.

tejasdj12

Joined Jul 11, 2010
Even if one of the input goes LOW, at least one MOSFET will start conducting. It will be a least resistive path (I think). So current should flow through either of the MOSFETs when input is LOW

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
Circuit1 is not CMOS. CMOS stands for complementary metal oxide semiconductor, what you have isn't complementary, add you have only one type MOSFET.

Also, circuit two is an AND gate, but the PMOS and NMOS positions are flipped from their usual locations, NMOS on bottom when drawn....

takao21203