Class D audio amplifier design - modulation factor

Skeebopstop

Joined Jan 9, 2009
Heya,

I'm following http://www.irf.com/product-info/audio/classdtutorial.pdf as a guide to design my own Class D audio amplifier for at home fabrication.

Can anyone explain exactly what modulation factor represents in PWM modulation. I just assumed it defined the percent of intended signal you can actually produce in the given modulation scheme. That being said, I can't figure out exactly why it impacts the breakdown voltage for the MOSFET bridge so much?

Any ideas or references would be groovy, I'm new to Audio.

Cheerio,

James

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
I think the modulation factor is the ration of the peak voltage of the audio signal to the peak of the triangular signal. Both signals referred to the input of the comparator.

Skeebopstop

Joined Jan 9, 2009
hmmmm. Both good answers.

If it were to restrict 100% duty cycle, than it would imply my design must limit this, which won't be the case nor is this mentioned in the application note from IR.

If it were a percentage of peak output defined by saw tooth limitations, than shouldn't that also be a design contraint built into the design? Otherwise, I should theoretically easily be able to just provide a reference voltage above the sawtooth maximum and hold my comparator output high and saturate the outputs, thus in effect achieving nearly 100%.

I spoke with a Control System Doctor (Ph.D) at work and he said it is inherent in PWM to only be able to achieve 85% (recently 90% has been possible) at best of what you desire. His only explanation was that it was so through simulations, which I assume he has performed on instance as we are involved in the BLDC servo drive business, which is in effect the same technology.

I feel his comments are related to attempting to provide an ideal sine wave, whereas other waveforms may actually have differeing modulation factors.