Class C amplifier design

ransidesilva

Joined Sep 1, 2009
Hi All,
I am new at RF circuit Design and as part of my coursework I have been given the task of designing Class-C power amplifier.
Design spec
1. 50ohm source and load impedance
2. 21dBm output power with a gain of 10dB
3. Transistor to use 2N3866
4. DC supply voltage 12V
5. Operating frequency 433MHz
6. Use L networks for matching
7. User ADS ( but I use LTSpice for the spice simulation stuff )
Methodology that I followed,
1. Find the impedance transformation networks using the transistor large signal model for input and output.
2. Plug in the transistor model, impedance transformation networks ( L networks ) , in the Class C topology and see if we get the required output and input voltages ( Voltage gain ) transient Analysis
3. * for point 3 Actually I am not sure what we can simulate , cant we simulate to a reasonable extent the output power and gain ( ignoring board layout considerations ??) , I found the following material on the subject so far with regards to simulation :
http://www.intusoft.com/articles/classc.pdf
http://whites.sdsmt.edu/classes/ee322/class_notes/322Lecture22.pdf

As I was unable to get the required (voltage gain) I was given a working circuit. The simulation does not give the required gain of 10dB but the constructed project does. Of course the board has been tuned a bit but as a starting point the following circuit has been used as the output of the Simulation stage.

The Questions I have
1. What is the purpose of L5 inductor, i don’t understand it. If the supply voltage falls below 0.7 the transistor should not conduct, what is the point of shorting the base current to ground ?
2. The L2 value is obtained by combining the RF choke and the high pass L network shunt L. ( that I understood )
3. Why is the Vout negative going pulse not clipped? as the transistor should be turned off during this period.