Circuit simulator?? Not sure its 100% correct

wannaBinventor

Joined Apr 8, 2010
I'm using the circuit simulator found here: http://www.falstad.com/circuit/

I started using it because it was simple and had plenty of examples. I'm now questioning the accuracy of it a bit. I'm far from an expert, heck, I'm barely a novice, but I feel like some of the simulation just doesn't match theory.

Does anyone here have any experience using that simulator? Can you
vouch for its accuracy?

Thanks!

count_volta

Joined Feb 4, 2009
I use this sim a lot. Its very cool. Its accurate most of the time, but I did notice that for very complicated analysis it can be inaccurate.

I say use it for simple stuff and to get an idea of how stuff works, but if you want accuracy use pspice.

Can you give an example of where you say its inaccurate?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
It is pretty close. It is meant to show graphically what is usually explained with math, so some allowences are made.

There are other simulators (some that are available for free downloads) call SPICE (Simulation Program with Integrated Circuit Emphasis) that are powerful tools for beginners. If you make a mistake only the display electrons are inconvenienced, no magic smoke escapes nor parts destroyed. There are quite a few versions, each with its own advantages and disadvantages. They can be quite good, but sometimes they are also a bit off.

Speaking for myself I learned electronics long before these tools were available, so I tend to trust the one between my ears more. This doesn't make be better than these tools, just hard headed.

kkazem

Joined Jul 23, 2009
Hi all,