circuit help

simf14

Joined Jul 27, 2007
Hello and thank you for looking.
I am a newbie and need to design a circuit that will measure physical shock to an object and if the shock reaches an adjustable level will signal an audio alarm. Could anyone send me in the right direction? Thank you so much!

Last edited:

simf14

Joined Jul 27, 2007
physical shock, sensor could be mechanical or electrical just edited the post. Thank you CDrive.

Last edited:

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
These days, I think, Piezo elements are getting a lot of use in this application. Also, I don't know if they make them any longer but the alarm industry once used switches that I think we called "Tremor Switches". They were/are basically a very sensitive Reed Switch, that when whacked, would open or close momentarily. They were typically placed in the loop on windows to replace ugly foils.

I think we have members that have experience using Piezo's. There also may be (I think there are) specialized chips for this. What's the device that needs monitoring?

simf14

Joined Jul 27, 2007
Hi CD!
I need qualitative measuring of the up and down force on a runner's body around the waist. The force should be accurate from 0 to 6 g's in increments of .1 . Don't know if a piezo can do that or it might need to be a thermal axis accelerometer. Again I am a total beginner but maybe the members could shed some light.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Ever play pinball? All you need is an old-fashioned "tilt" sensor. They were basically a suspended weight that could be knocked into a nearby conductor if the machine was abused.

The fancy modern version is the 3-axis accelerometer. You could then use a comparator, I believe, to trigger at any preset level of g, along any of the 3 axes. Laptops use these to park the hard drive heads in a collision.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Hi CD!