circuit configuration and wiring help needed please and thank you

lostintranslation

Joined Nov 6, 2013
I'm a graphic designer and not a pro, so I apologize for the wiring diagram, but the best way I understand this stuff is if I can see the wiring. I can read a circuit, half way, but translating the circuit into the wiring is tough for a rookie like me. I am trying to wire up a small DIY arc welder, any help or pointers on the wiring would be appreciated. I had a version working and running, with no resistors and only one 4700 Capacitor, but wanted to try and set it up for multiple caps and configurations for options in the circuit. Also did not have any resistors in the circuit, would like to protect the Caps and the board both. I am not sure if I am close, or way off. I have cobbled it together from various forums and circuits found online, but I think this is "close"? or maybe not. The two power supplies is to keep the LED voltage display from bleeding the charge from the caps...at least that was the idea. Maybe the vets and pros out there see my glaring mistakes... ???? Any help is appreciated and thank you very much for any help in advance.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
What voltage does the 'Welder Power Supply' put out? You may be able to run the LED display from that.
Why the diode? It is a 1A type and seemingly has far too low a current rating.

lostintranslation

Joined Nov 6, 2013