Chronograph (bullet velocity) - Help plz

Jacob J

Joined Jun 18, 2009
Hello

I need some help. I have come up with an idea of making my own chronograph, so I can measure the bullet velocity, when I shoot a bullet out of my hunting rifle.

I am not very good at any electronic stuff, though I have made some simple circuits, like a PWM circuit (also with help some you guys).

I have searched the net and found some informations about the construction of such a device and here is what Ive found.

I make two frames 4x4 inchs, where there are four IR leds in the buttom and 4 photodiodes in the bottom. I flood both frames with IR light and the photodiodes pick up the light. When the bullet is passing through the frames it works like a switch. Although Ive learned that I must use a NAND timer to send the signal from the frames into and that then works as a switch. I havnt been able the figuere out how I must proceed.

I would like to be able to read the result on something, I have been thinking about segment blocks, but if there is an easier way, I would like to do that.

Can you please tell me how I must go on with this project?

And please, it must be as simple as it can be. But I also just want to be able to read the velocity or some result I then can do the math on and get a result.

Hope you all can help me

Best regards

Jacob Jensen (Denmark)

Jacob J

Joined Jun 18, 2009
Ive found out, that the devices you buy uses a crystal clock/osciliator to measure the time, but how do I put it all together?

My idea; Each frame with the IR leds and photodiodes sends a signal into an TTL NAND input. Then the TTL switches on a crystal clock on the first signal from frame 1 and the TTL switches the crystal clock off again, when it gets a signal from frame 2.

Thats the way I think it should work, but how do I put it together and how can I get a reading of the results?

Jacob J

Joined Jun 18, 2009