Christmas LED decoration design help for a Newbie DIY

DifferentIce

Joined Dec 6, 2010
Hello all,

I just signed in here, looked around a bit and did not see an obvious answer to my question so if I should have looked better I apologize.

I just started studying electronics this fall and after the semester of fiddling with stuff and learning text I decided to try a bit of a DIY to get more of a hands on feel and see if I can begin a project and find my way to it's end.

The project I have in mind is a simple Christmas LED circuit attached to some batteries and a switch, self sustainable except for a battery change.

I already found some neat LED's both 3mm and 5mm in diameter and according to the shop assistant 2V all of them. After one died unexpectantly I feel I should maybe test this further. So question 1. How does one test them?

I first attached the lot into a bread board and to a 9v battery (I only had that one, but none of them died). Then I started experimenting a bit, since I really need to use either 1,5V or 3V batteries, just cause they are smaller and cheaper. I couldn't get the 3mm yellow one to work in 1,5v and two of them together (3v) killed her. The green and red one lived fine, and all of the 5mm ones. What are the best steps in testing and trying these things? And when I have, do you have any great ideas on the circuit? I'm having a bit of a brain twist on how many LED's per leg and how to connect the batteries.

I really want to try and make this project only out of LED's, switch batteries, some wire and home made housing, without using resistors or anything else, just to save on materials and also to understand the principles.

I've thought about creating some pole endings for the batteries from metal from cans (aluminium is the way to go right?) since it seems that battery holders are either too big or too expensive.