Choosing a production microcontroller

dsengere

Joined Jan 12, 2014
Hi Guys. My name is Dan and this is my first post.

I'm a grad student studying mechatronics, and I have a bachelor's in mechanical engineering. I come here asking for some help.

I am interested in developing electromechanical systems for production (not just for hobby). For now, I'll just an example of a sandwhich-making machine.

I see all kinds of hobby microcontrollers out there, most notably the Arduino. These are all fine and well, but I want to be able to take ideas to the next step. I want to choose microcontrollers for production. That is, the smallest and most economical option.

It seems to me that by far, the easiest way to develop a prototype solution is to use Simulink, then use a compiler to put your controller code onto a microcontroller. I hear this is quite easy with Arduino.

My question: Are there any production-level microcontrollers out there with this same capability? I don't want to waste my time messing around with Arduino if I can cut to the chase and begin programming on a more "Realistic" platform. It seems like everyone who uses Arduino is just using it for fun. I want to take it to the next level!

Any guidance on this subject would be incredibly appreciated.

Thanks! :D

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
Hundreds if not thousands (from a single manufacturer). What maybe dozens of manufacturers? Microchip for just one.

Then then is Atmel which the Arduino is based on. Nothing says you can't use the Arduino for prototyping then design a board on your own using the chip.

Last edited:

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Arduino is not a microcontroller. It is a platform.

There are tens of thousands of microcontrollers to choose from supplied by dozens of manufacturers. I will not list the major contenders for danger of omitting any particular manufacturer.

If you would like more information let us know what specifically you wish to know.