Choice of Microcontroller

knibknob

Joined Apr 22, 2010
Hello all, I am continuing a previous project, which involves an integration of a stepper motor, an encoder, a power sensor, and 2 limit switches. The previous project had been controlled by an Arduino micro-controller through processing, but now those in charge wish to swap out the micro-controller and control it via C#. I am quite new to this, and was wondering if people could give some suggestions as to which micro-controller to use. The criteria is that it can integrate all of the above components, and be controlled through C#. Thank you for assistance in advance, and I look forward to a timely response.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
I do not think any MCU can be programmed in Microsoft C#. Does your person(s) in charge want to move from a MCU based platform to a PC platform. Or do they want to replace the Arduino board with a more dedicated MCU system.

knibknob

Joined Apr 22, 2010
I believe the interface is through the PC. For example, when we used the Arduino, we could give commands through the PC, as well as obtain measurements through the sensor to the PC. I think as long as the PC can communicate (using c#) through the serial port with micro-controller, it's fine, even if the MCU is programmed with some other language such as assembly or C. I believe the reason they wanted to replace the Arduino was in favor of a more dedicated MCU, but I am not sure, sorry =(.

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
Regardless of the language on the PC side, the commands the uC gets is whats important. You can program in alien on the PC as long as the outputted commands are understandable at the uC input.

knibknob

Joined Apr 22, 2010
Oh thanks for clarifying. Sorry, its just that the people in charge are insistent on using C#. I've been googling and it looks like using the System.IO.Ports namespace, C# can communicate with the serial port. Is there really no way to output understandable commands to the uC?

knibknob