Cheap Large Sports timer

gokiwis

Joined Jun 24, 2012
Hi,

I'm looking to obtain what is essentially a stopwatch, the sort you can buy for $10, but the display needs to be visible from 300 feet away. It's for an athletics club, but we don't have the $$$ it takes to just buy one, $500 - $2000.

So I'm looking to make one, and I'm open to any creative suggestions. I have limited electronics knowledge but did it a bit at Uni (did Physics) & I can follow instructions. My constraints are the solution must be simple and cheap.

For display, a 5 digit 7-Segment 10" LED will be fine. Hunting around they are expensive. However I can buy a 24cm strip of 24 bright white LEDs for $2, so for $14 plus a few resistors and some black backing; I figure I can make a common anode or common cathode simple 7 segment display. So for under $100 that solves the display problem.

Next I need to control them. I had imagined that I would take an existing stop watch, connect to whatever controls the 7 seg display, put in some sort of switch-able current source with an Op Amp for each segment, and voilà. I've found out it's not as simple as that though. My $10 LCD stopwatch does not raise pins high and low to control each segment as I had thought it would. (I stripped out down and used a multi-meter to check).

So I'm looking for suggestions. I've thought of:
1. Buying a $20 LED timer and hoping it will let me control my giant LEDs with some Op Amps in between (one for each segment). This sounds fraught with pitfalls, I think that the odds of a commercial cheap LED timer raising individual segments high and low the way I need are low from what I've read.
2. Trying to learn how to use one of those Arduino things, but that seemed complicated. I guess I could go down that path if you guys think that's the best way forwards.
3. There seem to be various ICs made for this sort of thing with ready made instructions, looks like a bit of a learning curve though.