Charging a battery with an ultra low voltage AC supply

texaskid1993

Joined Apr 22, 2010
I am working on a project to convert energy dissipated during walking, to electrical energy. To convert the mechanical energy to electrical energy I made a linear electromagnetic generator which uses a change in the Area of the circuit to generate a voltage.

The device I have designed is outputting a fluctuating voltage of 20-50 mV AC. I would like to charge a small AAA battery with this but I'm not good with circuits and I know the battery requires a DC voltage of at least 1.5V.

I have done research and I realize I need a rectifier, but every example I run across uses much higher voltages and states that the rectifier loses 1V due to efficiency (this would kill my small voltage). I have considering an amplifier to increase the voltage or a capacitor to store the energy before, but I am having trouble figuring out what to do. Can someone help me figure out how to convert and store this small AC energy? I really appreciate any suggestions. thanks.

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
Can you change your design? You can use a peizo to convert the action into DC voltage. That will do away with the need for rectification.

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
Well, the smallest voltage drop from a diode I know of is .6v

You could charge a capacitor (slowly) then dump the charged cap into the charger circuit.

texaskid1993

Joined Apr 22, 2010
Thanks, a problem that arises though is that because of the nature of the circuit (opening and closing) the current changes directions when the circuit is retracting so If all I have is a capacitor, it will drain out the energy that was just put in. I will definitely use a capacitor to store the energy before trying to charge the battery, but I think some sort of diodes must be used

texaskid1993

Joined Apr 22, 2010