Career problem (serious engineers/academics please?)

fez

Joined Dec 6, 2009
Hello. I'm a young electrical engineer and I'm having a bit of a problem. I'm curious about so many things electronic (that's a lie actually. Physics, Math, Art and Music all interest me as well. But lets stick to electronics), and I want to know them all one by one... starting from where-ever I eventually decide to. My problem is, I have this somewhat rational fear that I'll forget things as I learn them. I'm using the Arduino and I'm already forgetting parts of C. I'm afraid that as I learn more about electronics I'll forget them or muddle them very quickly, and so it'll all go to waste.

So I decided to take notes. Take notes of anything interesting or valuable. But that's becoming a chore too. It takes time & effort to develop notes, to pick out important points and write them down. It takes time and effort to keep them organized, and to store them somewhere where you can dig them out whenever needed. I've tons and tons of stuff from the web bookmarked that I'd love to go through; hordes of books on electronics that I've purchased or have the names down, but the thought of taking notes from them all is wearing me out as is. And yet, noting things down, working them all out on paper has always made me absorb things better.

I need help. How do you, professional engineers and academics, keep growing your knowledge AND keep it remembered? I'm very anxious over the whole matter.

debjit625

Joined Apr 17, 2010
I learnt many things,and I forget them too,when I forget I take reference thats what everybody does.You can't remember each and every details of some subject that you don't work on everyday,its better to use your brain for processing rather than dumping stuff in it.Yes at some point you will know every details of some subject,if you are working on it for a very long time.

Good Luck

jwilk13

Joined Jun 15, 2011