Capacitor overheating

luckycatt

Joined May 15, 2024
Hi! im kinda new to electronics, currently studying automation engineering

I've got an old pedal board for my guitar, and it used to work fine, but after it was left unused it just wont turn on, so i opened it up and discovered that a resistor (18 Ω 5%) is getting really hot, and the pedal board isn't even turning on, so i wanted to come here and see if i could learn more about this and maybe even fix it up myself

I'll attach an image pointing to the capacitor in questionWhatsApp Image 2024-05-15 at 8.42.27 PM.jpeg

luckycatt

Joined May 15, 2024
Hi! im kinda new to electronics, currently studying automation engineering

I've got an old pedal board for my guitar, and it used to work fine, but after it was left unused it just wont turn on, so i opened it up and discovered that a resistor (18 Ω 5%) is getting really hot, and the pedal board isn't even turning on, so i wanted to come here and see if i could learn more about this and maybe even fix it up myself

I'll attach an image pointing to the capacitor in questionView attachment 322414
i thought so too, but looks like the other side is very well soldered

dovo

Joined Dec 12, 2019
That is a resistor, not a capacitor. The resistor shows no signs of being too hot and the board doesn't either because it is not discolored. It does look like the solder pad has been pulled off. Did someone repair that location at some time?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
R54 is a resistor, not a capacitor. It was anticipated that it would dissipate a lot of power. That is why they specified 18Ω 2W resistor.

Before jumping the gun, you need to get out your DVM and take some voltage measurements. There are ample test points on the board. Measure the voltages at TP14, TP16, TP27, TP30, TP19.

luckycatt

Joined May 15, 2024