Capacitor design help

Chris69

Joined Oct 11, 2007
I am new to electronics, but am very interested in learning about, and building Tesla and Moray type devices.

My question involves building a capacitor using copper flashing (house construction material) and rubber from a shower liner. the copper plates are .020" thick, by 1.80" by 2.26". The shower liner is .040" thick, and I was planning on folding over each layer and gluing it into a sleeve for each copper plate to slide into. I plan on soldering a regular insulated copper wire (12-14AWG) to each plate on opposite ends of the capacitor.

Are these materials acceptable to use for high voltage (up to 5kv)? Any recommendations on good books on building circuits and capacitors? Should I use distilled water to add to the dielectric qualities? The type of device I am trying to replicate is shown here: http://www.panaceauniversity.org/D1.pdf on page 11 by Tesla. My primary interest right now is tapping into free energy.

Thank you for any help offered.

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005
1) Review the Laws of Thermodynamics

2) Don't put too much stock into Thomas Moray's work. See (1) above for why I might make this suggestion. (But he makes dynamite fodder for science fiction and pulp!)

3) Try not to use the name "Tesla" and the phrase "Free Energy" in the same paragraph. The poor fellow suffered enough when he was alive.

3) Dielectric breakdown voltage per unit thickness of your shower liner will depend on what kind of material it is made from.

4) Try rolling the foil and dielectric on a cylinder instead of folding them.

5) High voltage kills. Use all appropriate precautions.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
I might look into a layer of mylar plastic because it is less likely to suffer from handling. Look into published characeristics about thickness vs insulation quality at high voltage.