Can You Help Me With This Circuit Plz

Plecc

Joined Aug 26, 2010
Hi all,
I would like to make a simple 10x LED circuit with a potentiometer to control the brightness.
I want to use some 10mm blue LED's,
Spec:
Forward Voltage 3.2v
Power Dissipation 70mW
Peak Forward Current 100mA
Continuous Forward Current 20mA

I was thinking a circuit like this would be best:

^etc up to x10^
|----(resistor?)------(+LED-)------|
|(Potentiometer)| |---------------|
| |
(+) (-)
(Power Supply 9-12V)​

Sry i'm a total noob at this, never rly understood how to calculate resistance. (think i need 470 Ohm 1/2W for each LED)
Can someone advise me what resistors, potentiometer and power supply to use? (3-12V would be convenient for me)
Is this the best way to rig up this circuit?

Thanks.
Plecc.

Plecc

Joined Aug 26, 2010
Thanks for the quick feedback,
Loads of info, i didn't know really where to start.
Sooo much more complex than i thought to dim an array of LEDs.

Thanks JaguarJoe for the link, i was going to go for that one but I'm finding the 7805 a bit tricky to get hold of.
A friend of mine found one based around one of the 555 timers.

http://www.reuk.co.uk/LED-Dimmer-Circuit.htm

I can get hold of all these bits really easily, would this be suitable for running 5 strings of two, each pair joined to a 1/2W 330Ohm resistor?

Oh and the BC547 i have is 100mA rather than 200mA is this a problem?

Thanks.
Plecc

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

Perhaps you can use a 2N2222 in stead of the BC547.
This can handle upto 500 mA.
Also use a 390 Ohms instead of the 330 Ohms to reduce the current a little bit.

See the attached table for more transistor data (unzip and open in excel).

Bertus

Attachments

Jaguarjoe

Joined Apr 7, 2010
7805's are as common as bed bugs on an 8 mile rd. hooker.
"All Electronics" has them for 50 cents each. They have 555's for 75 cents and 2N2222's at 2 for a buck. Just enter the part numbers in the search box and they will pop up.