Can you guys help me re-create the W1209 Thermostat Module?

mmgcsta

Joined Apr 26, 2024
Hello guys! I just wanted to ask you guys about some component replacements so that I can recreate the W1209 Digital Thermostat Module.

The parts I want to replace are the following:

AMS1117-5.0
STM8S003F3P6

Also, what values do you think I should use with the Diodes (D1) and Transistor?

I know you'll ask me "Why don't you just buy the board?", As a student I want to learn how the past inventors of this circuit made the whole project, and also it is summer in my place I want to make a thermostat and learn at the same time. I hope you can give me a bit of your time, thanks!

W1209-temperature-controller(02).jpg

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
AMS1117-5.0 is a +5V 3-terminal voltage regulator. A LM7805 linear regulator will work but note that the pin-out is different.
LM1086-5.0 is a replacement

You can replace the STM8S003F3P6 but it will not work. It is a microcontroller and needs to be programmed.

mmgcsta

Joined Apr 26, 2024
AMS1117-5.0 is a +5V 3-terminal voltage regulator. A LM7805 linear regulator will work but note that the pin-out is different.
LM1086-5.0 is a replacement

You can replace the STM8S003F3P6 but it will not work. It is a microcontroller and needs to be programmed.
Thank you! I don't have the means yet to get both the AMS1117-5.0 and STM8S003F3P6

mmgcsta

Joined Apr 26, 2024

panic mode

Joined Oct 10, 2011
but the MCU will also need a programmer. if you are interested in starting with MCUs i would recommend to get a kit or something that has plenty of support. one easy to start option is to use an Arduino, and there are shields wht have 7-segments displays and buttons. software is free and no programmer is needed

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
If you want to learn how to program an STM8 MCU, the best place to start is by becoming familiar with the STM ecosystem.