Can LEDs in parallel use a single resistor?

alockrem

Joined Dec 31, 2009
I am an electronics newbie. I am about 5 hours into the videos on this site which are very helpful.

I am building a golf ball display case that includes 27 LEDs. My initial design includes 27 white LEDs, 27 330 Ω resistors, and a 9v battery.

After watching one of the videos I learned about how to calculate the resistance properly for this type of circuit. Doing the math myself (which I hope is correct) it appears the total resistance for this circuit is 12.22 Ω. Does that mean I can put a 12.22 Ω resistor (or whatever standard resistor is closest) just off the power source and not include the 27 resistors I expected to use?

Thanks for your help.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Howdy, welcome to AAC, which is my home site. You probably recognize my avitar.

It can be done, but it is a terrible idea. Resistors are cheap, LEDs are expensive, and if an LED burns out the rest have to pick up the slack. The next goes because it is being pushed hard, resulting in the rest taking on more load. You can see where this is going, eventually you have a cascade reaction.

Generally one LED (or a chain of LEDs in series) and one resistor is the way to go.

This explains it in more detail, especially chapters 1 and 2...

LEDs, 555s, Flashers, and Light Chasers

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
27 white LEDs in parallel = about 1/2 A; not good for 9V alk. Can use 2 LEDs in series for 13 strings @ about 1/4 A or about 1 hour, also providing all are same Vf.; still not recommended. A higher operating V would be better, say 12V [8-AAs] giving 9 strings of 3 in series, @ 180 mA; assuming 20mA, 3.2V white LEDs, series resistor of 120 ohms, 1/4W.

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
If you are building a display case, lite by LEDs, you might want to consider something like a buck puck. It would give you a constant current source and you LEDs will last longer.

You could power everything with a wall wart instead of a battery.